Style

spring 10×10 experiment • a recap

We’re a week out from the end of my spring 10×10 experiment where I wore 10 pieces of clothing for 10 days, so today I’ll be recapping my experience with the challenge/experiment/what else can I call it to make it sound less pressure-y, and sharing some of the things I’m taking away as I move forward with my closet. (This was probably an awful sentence to read for anyone into the English language and its grammar – Sorry! I love long sentences and use commas where my teachers tell me I ought not to.)

MY 10 ITEMS

Untitled

My 10 pieces included all the things you see in the photo above:

  • 2 shoes
  • 2 bottoms
  • 2 tops
  • 2 sweaters
  • 1 outer layer

Accessories and outerwear could flow in and out freely.

MY 10 OUTFITS

Untitled

PERSONAL FINDINGS + TAKEAWAYS

This was my first time doing the 10×10, which I found via Caroline from Un-Fancy but was started by Lee from Style Bee. I’m not going to lie, shit has been HARD. Living minimally is hard! Who knew! Lol, I think it’s a good kind of hard though – like, remembering to recycle or compost everything that you consume. Would life be easier for you to just chuck everything into one rubbish bin? Probably! But would life, long-term, be better for you? Definitely not.

My main takeaway from this is that this shit hard, but this shit doable. There were moments where I had this insatiable urge to wear my purple velvet harem pants, but the craving would pass, and I would be content with the pieces I had picked for these ten days. The past couple of weeks, I’ve been thinking a lot about my/our impact as humans on this earth we call home – especially with our dear President Trump announcing that the US will be pulling out of the Paris climate agreement. I feel so helpless to do anything to save the Earth, but every little helps. So if I can start consuming less and thus putting less shit into landfills – that’s a start, right?

Q+A (STOLEN FROM UN-FANCY)

  • Did your clothes work for the weather?

Er, sometimes. Weather was really unpredictable – moreso than usual in London. Somedays I was sweating with just a shirt and my loose culottes on, and some days I wanted to wear two jackets and a scarf to stay alive and not freezing to death. Not to mention the random rain that happened some days!!! Both my shoes weren’t really cut-out for little puddles.

  • Did you wear anything that wasn’t included in your 10 pieces?

As above – er, sometimes. Aside from other-life-wear like my running clothes and PJ’s, when the aforementioned random hot day would happen, I sprung for a white cropped tank top instead of the sweaters and long-sleeved tops I picked. I chose not to include outerwear in my 10 pieces, and that was a really good idea. I’m a bit of a slut for a good jacket/blazer, so it alleviated some of my “I DON’T HAVE ACCESS TO MY WHOLE WARDROBE OH GOD” panic, but it also allowed for different kinds of coats depending on whatever weather was going on.

  • How did laundry work out?

I washed everything right before I started the challenge and I didn’t wash anything through the whole thing. Is that kind of gross? Idk, I don’t personally think so, because I wasn’t exactly doing vigorous activity in my outfits and getting them dirty and stinky. I did get a toothpaste stain on my ‘dude’ sweater though, but I just washed that part by hand and left it to dry.

  • Were there any pieces you included that felt like mistakes?

Um. Yes. The Mango blazer, while one of my all-time favorite articles of clothing period, isn’t super versatile in terms of the outfits it creates. It kind of gives the same look to everything I pair it with, and as I only had two bottoms – welp. I think I generally felt like the pieces I included in this challenge were poorly chosen, because I love pants way more than tops, and yet I included 2 bottoms and 5 things to wear on my upper body.

  • Which piece was your favorite?

Black topshop culottes!!!!!!!! Hands down my most-worn article of clothing since I got them in the middle of May.

  • Which outfit was most outside your comfort zone?

The red ‘dude’ sweater with the black culottes for Day 10 – I usually go for a 1 statement piece + more muted/neutral pieces formula, and this outfit, to me, was statement + statement. There was the collared shirt peeking out, the bright red sweater with the graphic word on the front, and the pleated loose cropped pants. That felt like a lot going on! I was really hesitant when thinking about the outfit in my head, but it wasn’t that bad-looking once it was on. I just didn’t feel super comfortable in it. That’s just kind of a thing that comes with expanding your style to new territory though, I think.

  • What did you learn about your personal style?

Er, not much. I think I’ve settled into a personal ~styel~* and that’s my home base, and I experiment with it in bits and bobs, but I know what I like, I know what I want, I know what I feel good in. I don’t feel the need to stray, nor do I want to. I’m still into the high-waisted + crop silhouette, still into blazers, still hella into elbow patches. I still have no clue how to do anything to my hair. I think I’ve maybe just learnt that I don’t mind looking a bit more shapeless and blobby, for lack of a better word. And that I’m gonna wear culottes!!! Even if people think they look formless and ugly and even if Cosmopolitan magazine interviews men who says it’s on their list of “10 things women wear that are a dealbreaker”. At this point in my life, I actually think that’s a prerequisite for a quarter of the things I own – do those guys Cosmo finds on the street like this? Yes? OK, put it down.

  • What would you do differently next time?

More shoes, more pants, more considering each piece as part of a collective and how they’ll all end up fitting together. More versatility in my pieces. More enthusiasm!!!

WHAT’S NEXT?

I think I’m going to stay away from this mini capsule wardrobe thing for a while, lol. At least until Lee from Style Bee starts the summer 10×10 – then I might join in again, and it’d be cool to do it at the same time as everyone else and have a little ~community. I’m doing a shopping fast at the moment – I started in the middle of May, right after I bought my Topshop pants and thought “fuck I should not have bought that I NEED TO STOP” to myself – so I think I’ll be good on the no-impulse-buys to fill imaginary holes in my closet front. Somewhere down the line, I’d like to try a 30×30 for a whole month (!!!) and I know I’ll be donating/selling a ton of my shit this summer.

OK, I think that’s all for today. Thanks for listening to me blathering on about clothes! I hope it enriched your life a little lmao

Standard

One thought on “spring 10×10 experiment • a recap

Leave a Reply

